trailer evaluation

Trailer evaluation script.

In What Ways Doers Your Media Product use, develop or challenge forms and conventions of real media products?

In my trailer it becomes obvious that I filmed it in the day time. I did this to go against and challenge the convention of a night-time setting. I felt that most horror films are filmed at night in a dark space and this fear of darkness is played upon too much, I wanted to create a new fear for my target audience, plus the setting (church ruins) becomes clearer in the day light. I still think the setting is spooky as it is set on a cold sunny day, this juxtaposed with the narrative crates a twisted story that doesn’t seem right in the viewers mind.

What have you learned from your audience feed back?

After showing my trailer to my target audience I interviewed them this is the soundtrack from the interview.

As you may have heard, over all the feedback is mostly positive how ever I have taken the criticism on board and will consider making a few changes.

How did you use new media technologies in the construction and research, planning and evaluation stages?

Firstly I used my blackberry to take location shots to see  what my settings will look like at the time of day I will shoot the trailer. I also used a mini dv camcorder to record my film as well as a boom mic to capture sound from further away, this enabled me to do long shots and zoom in and out with out the sound level being effected.

I filmed in a non linear order, this allowed me to shoot things in a logical way, for example there is a shot where Raska is covered in fake blood, I filmed this last so it wouldn’t be seen in earlier shots. The only reason I could do this is when I cam to editing I used a digital editing software called ‘final cut pro’ which allowed me to change the order of my film and move bits around.

This entry was posted in Dore, Taz. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

