website evaluation script.

Website evaluation.

In what ways does you media product use, develop,  or challenge forms and conventions of real media products?

Firstly my website product sticks to the template of my Poster, keeping in with the theme of red and white, using red hyperlinked icons for various areas concerning the trailer. This is a convention with any poster/website not just a horror film.

I also developed the use of social networking sites such as Facebook & Twitter by creating icons which link directly to the sites fan pages. I did this to appeal to my target audience of 18-30 year olds.

After looking at various websites I decided to use icons like ‘gallery’ and ‘ cast’ , conventionally found on most film websites, I put these on my own website because it allows the audience to  browse the website with ease as everything is labeled clearly under the appropriate heading.

I included a media player that plays my trailer, this is a conventional feature of  real film websites as it allows the viewer to see the trailer without searching for it. I developed this convention by keeping it the same grey as my website, making it more visually fitting.

I used the same image on the website as my poster, I did this to create a identity for the franchise, many institutions have done this, it gives the film an overall look, easily identifiable for the target audience.

What have you learnt from your audience feedback?

After showing my website to a number of people, their responses were mostly positive, some commented.

“ it is very clearly laid out and has the same clinical feel as the poster. They definitely look as if they are promoting the same film.”

“ I really like it, I love the fact you have used the same image for both as it creates a strong look for the franchise and I would recognize it.”

From this I found out that I did a good thing by keeping the same image/ theme as it makes it easier for my target audience of 18-30 year olds to identify with.

I also got some negative responses, some people were concerned that the image is too big an shouldn’t act as a background but an included picture..

This can be seen in Dev Mistry’s response  “ The head felt too squashed on the page,  but I like it.”

How did you use new media technologies in the construction and research, planning and evaluation stages?

I used the internet to visit various websites like ‘The Descent’ to see how they are made and what information I should include. This helped me a lot with my planning as I started to notice the conventional layout and typical information.

I used  Photoshop to create draft versions of my website, I changed the opacity and added text for the icons. The typography

This entry was posted in Dore, Taz. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

