Draft Eval write up

Evaluation

Poster

 In what ways does your media product use, develop or challenge forms and conventions of real media products?

 Typography:

 My poster challenges the use of where the title of the film is on the horror posters I have researched upon. All three of the posters I researched had structured their poster in which the title was placed underneath the picture and near the bottom. I however wanted it at the top of the poster to make it seem like an authentic wanted poster. I also placed it there to grab the reader’s attention to the name first, not only the pictures which dominate the majority of the space on the page. However, alike the posters the title is the biggest font on the page as it is an important convention of a poster.
The two most interesting areas of font on my poster is the tagline which is put on a slant rather than having a straight text. I believe this effect almost makes it looked “stamped” on, like if it was a police investigation sheet. Another would be the way I put “Rose Knox” with a red almost ripped/torn background, black text with a red background highlight to make it stand out. This also looks stamped on and I believe that this effect worked well for my poster, making it look legit.

 Pictures:

 I placed the pictures towards the centre area of the poster, not only to follow conventional ideas but also genre, as wanted posters mainly have a large picture in order to find the suspect or criminal. All 3 of my posters researched have a large picture either at the top or middle which generally dominate the rest of the poster.
The background I used was a grunge texture in which I expanded and gave it a brown tint and increased the contrast and brightness until I thought it looked appropriate and right. It gives the poster a realistic look on wanted posters and also fits into genre conventions. It makes it look much creepier and horror looking.

Studio Information:

 I followed the idea that the studio information should be placed with the steel tong credits as otherwise it would look very much out of place. I also lined them up along with the credits, website information and “coming soon”, almost as if bordering it to make it look neat, clean and professional. I originally used Miramax but could not used this at the beginning of my trailer so I switched to putting Twisted Pictures. I also used the Dolby Digital Plus logo too.

How effective is the combination of your main product and ancillary texts?

Studio Information and institutions:

 I have consistently used the same studio information throughout my media package of
trailer, poster and website. This links them all together and makes it look professional and legit.

In poster:

You want the audience to recognise the poster by the title which includes the font used, the size and the colours. I chose this font for the title as it stood out from obvious horror type fonts (such as ones which had blood coming off them) because I didn’t want it to look cheap and amateur. I used a font which looked like a type-writer (rough typewriter) to give an eerie but professional effect. It also fits in with the genre of my trailer, an asylum based horror thriller, to perhaps imitate notes made by psychologists. I used a rough grungy background to make it look like an authentic wanted poster but because the background was fairly light, I could not use white as a colour font otherwise it would not stand out and contrast against. I challenged this idea as the one of the posters I researched used a white colour for their title font against black. The saw poster I had researched also had the problem with a light background and used a black title to contrast. With this idea in mind, I used black which is a contrast to white (or a similar lighter colour) and red to symbolise danger, death, blood and all those other semantic fields. Brown was added around to give it depth and stand out.
I repeated these colours throughout the fonts I used. Another font I used was slightly different called “happydaze” which is a capitalized bold font. I used this in areas which it seemed appropriate, like the “Wanted – by Capital City Police” to make it look like a real wanted poster and “Coming soon”, “Murderer” to stand out against the rest of the fonts towards the bottom. I used the “steel tongs” font for the credits in which is essential to making a film poster look real as it is a standard font used and always appears at the bottom of the poster. I did the same and this follows the normal conventions of how film posters are structured.

Location:

It was hard to show this in the poster as I wanted it to seem like a room where people get their prison number photographs taken in. Obviously I could not shoot the background for this and draw lines all over a white wall so I simply cropped the pictures out and placed them on an appropriate background for a wanted poster.

Actors and Mise En Scene:

I chose myself as the actress as I would be shooting part of it hand-handled as Rose Knox to fit in the narrative. I shot the pictures before I even started making the trailer. This was difficult as I wasn’t entirely sure how Rose Knox should be represented. In the end, I pictured her as a normal looking everyday woman with a bad attitude and severe mental instability problems. I created the prop of the prison/asylum number type bored using cardboard and acrylic paint. I wanted the picture to seem like as if she’s been photographed and these are past police records so I shot from a face (mug) shot and a side shot. As for mise-en-scene, I gave her red long fingernails and red lips to signify danger. I did the face makeup in a grungy type way, making it look un-perfect because that is how a character she is. It also made her look dangerous and rebellious. I gave her a black eye to signify some kind of struggle and fight. This was done by using simple makeup, rather than Photo shopped on because it would make it far more realistic looking. Despite that, I wanted her expression to be smug and arrogant, as if she knows something else, or even that she enjoys being a criminal and likes the chase. I believe this transcends well in the photograph for the genre and narrative. However, my picture challenges certain posters (defiantly the ones I have researched) as they showed a scared figure or perhaps just a prop. I did neither of these but still believe that the pictures I have produced do fit the narrative and genre well.

What have you learned from your audience feedback?

 To be continued

 How did you use new media technologies in the construction and research, planning and evaluation stages?

For the poster, I used Photoshop to be able to create the effects I wanted such as dark typography, cutting out the pictures of “Rose” at home from my camera etc. I have used Photoshop before and found it easier to manipulate this time around, knowing the tools well now.

Website

In what ways does your media product use, develop or challenge forms and conventions of real media products?

I challenged my website structure as the film websites I have researched seemed to place the side bar and the buttons around an object or towards the bottom/side. I however placed mine at the top because I thought it looked generally better and would be easier for the audience to navigate through the website. Above that I placed the title of the film which is usually near the top of the website design. The picture, instead of being surrounded by text like the Saw website, is placed towards the side, like the Gothika website to make it look less crowded and neat. Next to that I included a quote from Rose Knox, the tagline of the film and a quote from a magazine review. I believe this makes the film look more legit and real however it was hard to be able to fit it in without looking cluttered. I included a video player where you can watch the trailer from. This links back with the idea of every product being one idea – the fact that the website looks very much similar to the poster and that it even includes the other project, the trailer.

How effective is the combination of your main product and ancillary texts?

It was important to remember all the needed details to sell a film with a website. I included alot of the same conventions such as iconography – the repeated theme throughout including the picture of Rose (The exact same one on the poster), the typography and background and generally how it is stylized. This is important because you want your audience to recognise the idea behind the website, just like the poster and are able to understand what the film is about. I included quotes “I’m a convicted murderer and escapee, you can’t keep me here!” as a Bartes enigma and action code to draw the audience into the poster and get a sense of the narrative and genre. This can be seen if not all of my research stage film websites.

Alike all the others, I had to use colours which would reflect the genre of the film through dark colours. Dark colours were common throughout my research stage and were a typical but easy way to convey the horror genre. Such ideas could be blackness for darkness, red for blood, brown for bruising and purple for illness. I used the same colours as I did on the poster, again, to carry on the theme.
I even created non-diegetic music to put on my website like the others which had some kind of suspenseful atmosphere music in the background to create an eerie effect.

This entry was posted in Smith-Perkins, Hannah. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

