Poster Development.

The title block of the film is the most vital part of the poster as it details not only the name of the film but also the films director, which could add to the movies appeal. The title itself also lets to the reader know the basis of the story and the design of the logo also tells you something.

By using the colour red (which connotes blood, danger and alarm) it informs the potential customer that it will be in the horror genre and follows conventions set by recent horror films such as Scream and Saw. The reason I used red, not just for mise-en-scene reasons (the connotation of danger (red) and the unknown (black), is because it stands out against the black background meaning the poster fulfills its purpose of selling the products name.

The serif font, Perpetua Titling MT, is one which I located on the internet and, for many reasons including a aging feel, it felt right because the essence of ‘Death’ is its age and relations with each religion which, like the font, are old. It was important for my to get a large, dominant and imposing font which, although it seems unlikely, can be scary like the film. The font is almost identical to that used on the posters for The Da Vinci Code and that further backs up my films relationship with religion.

 

 

“It will define them forever…” is a slogan that runs through the magazine, posters and film trailers as consistency will mean it becomes more memorable. I decided to take a leaf out of the book of TV advertisements in that, sometimes the slogans are more memorable thn the actual productions (ie. Simples, Im’ Lovin, Have a break). For this reason this slogan will follow the film around as, not only does it reveal a snippet of storyline, but also adds to the intrigue that Im looking to set up.

The colour is different to the title as I don’t want it to be as dominant but it still holds its own on the page. Hence the size of the text is still reasonably large and I have also added a ‘stretched’ effect to make it more imposing. I wanted the text to look as threatening as possible. The three full stops, to make it clear the sentence is incomplete, further adds to the enigma as the reader will want to know what defined them, who are them, and how it defined them forever.

The font is the same as the masthead which underlines the consistency but I was aware that the actual text couldn’t give too much, i had to keep telling myself – its only a teaser poster!

The billing block, the only real compulsory element, is positioned at the bottom because this is a convention I discovered from my textual analysis work. In some cases it is interesting to oppose the normal media conventions but in this case I felt it would have been ineffective. The font, Steel Tongs, is in relation to other posters while the logos correspond with the companies who are participating in the production of the film. If you look closely you will be able to see I have designed my own film company logo for my firm, STVENS.CO. This adds to the authenticity of the poster ands gives it an overall feel of realism.

Some logos are required such as the BBFC one or the Dolby Digital badge which reveal that the movie has passed its pre-release inspection while also being broadcast with the best sound technology. I have added ‘small text’ as well  because posters, for all sorts of products including movies, have text which they are legally required to put but don’t necessarily want you to see.

Draft One (click on image for higher resolution)

In the first draft I used the font ‘I still know’ and, at the time, felt it was effective. But if you scroll down you will see that my opinion soon changed. It was to be expected however and I knew, due to my experience in Design and Media, that your first draft will never be your final product. The billing block however is almost exactly the same and this underlines my confidence in the appearance of it.

Draft Two:



This entry was posted in Stevens, Sam. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

