Textual Analysis

(The first part of my research will involve a textual analysis which looks at existing promotional packages of my choice to help me understand what film advertisements of my chosen genre are like.)

TEXTUAL ANALYSIS

The first part of my research will consist of a textual analysis on three existing promotional packages consisting of a trailer, a poster and a website to advertise the release of a new film. It is useful to analyse existing products similar to the one I plan to create as it gives ideas on what works well and also on the conventions of my chosen genre; romantic comedy. Existing products are useful to analyse as it allows study on what work works well with a specific audience and will be useful to know what to include in my final products. For my textual analysis I have decided to analyse the following promotional packages; The Back-up Plan, Sex & The City 2 and Valentine’s Day. Although these three films are all romantic comedies, it is clear that they have many differences as well as similarities and it is useful to take notice of these. This will later help me when I come to create my products. The first promotional package I chose to analyse was; The Back-up Plan.

THE BACK-UP PLAN

Promotional Package – The Back-up Plan

Film name: The Back-up Plan

Director: Alan Poul

Actors/Actresses: Jennifer Lopez, Alex O’Loughlin, Noureen DeWulf, Melissa McCarthy

UK Release Date: 7th May 2010

Plot: Zoe (Jennifer Lopez) cannot find her dream man but is determined to have a child nevertheless and therefore undergoes artificial insemination. The same day she meets a man named Stan (Alex O’Loughlin) and they soon fall in love without Zoe mentioning the insemination, which turns out to be successful and she becomes pregnant. She tells Stan and at first he is angry that she did not tell him earlier; however, he accepts it and their relationship appears to be resolved, although the ending is left unconfirmed.

Trailer:

Firstly I analysed the trailer for the film; ‘The Back-up Plan’. I analysed several different shots from the trailer itself and then turned my analysis into a video.

The original trailer itself can be viewed below:

As I previously explained, I created my trailer analysis using the technique of a video. This is shown below and clearly shows the annotations above and below the image. The user may play and pause the trailer and skip parts if they require to do so.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Poster:

Next, I chose to analyse the poster. It is conventional for many genres of films to produce several different posters and this is why I have decided to analyse two. The following websites are where I found my poster images:

I decided to create my poster analyses using Photoshop and this can be found below:

Poster Analysis One

Poster Analysis Two

Website:

Finally, I created my website analysis using Prezi. The presentation, shown below, allows the user to zoom in and out of the presentation and also allows them to follow the presentation as I intended, by pressing the right arrow button.

http://prezi.com/ubnebkr-uuh8/02-the-back-up-plan-website/

SEX & THE CITY 2

Promotional Package – Sex & The City 2

Film name: Sex & The City 2

Director: Michael Patrick King

Actors/Actresses: Sarah Jessica Parker, Kim Cattrall, Kristin Davis, Cynthia Nixon, Chris Noth, John Corbett, David Eigenberg, Evan Handler, Jason Lewis, Lynn Cohen, Liza Minnelli, Miley Cyrus, Penelope Cruz

UK Release Date: 28th May 2010

Plot: The film is set two years after the first film and begins with four friends; Carrie (Sarah Jessica Parker), Samantha (Kim Cattrall), Charlotte (Kristin Davis) and Miranda (Cynthia Nixon), meeting up with each other. They are then all present at a same-sex wedding where Liza Minnelli is performing. It is clear that the four friends all have lives which are much more stressful than before in numerous ways, until Samantha organises an all-expenses-paid holiday to Abu Dhabi. The friends have a chance to get away from their troubles a little too much when Carrie runs into her former lover, Aidan (John Corbett) and they share a moment of passion. The friends come across many different problems similarly and gradually overcome them and make their way back to New York to make a few changes.

Trailer:

Firstly I analysed the trailer for the film; ‘Sex & The City 2’. I analysed several different shots from the trailer itself and then turned my analysis into a video.

The original trailer itself can be viewed below:

As I previously explained, I created my trailer analysis using the technique of a video. This is shown below and clearly shows the annotations above and below the image. The user may play and pause the trailer and skip parts if they require to do so.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Poster:

Next, I chose to analyse the poster. It is conventional for many genres of films to produce several different posters and this is why I have decided to analyse two. The following websites are where I found my poster images:

I decided to create my poster analyses using Photoshop and this can be found below:

Poster Analysis One

Poster Analysis Two

Website:

Finally, I created my website analysis using Prezi. The presentation, shown below, allows the user to zoom in and out of the presentation and also allows them to follow the presentation as I intended, by pressing the right arrow button.

http://prezi.com/hwfjupteurj7/03-sex-the-city-2-website/

VALENTINE’S DAY

Promotional Package – Valentine’s Day

Film name: Valentine’s Day

Director: Garry Marshall

Actors/Actresses: Jessica Alba, Jessica Biel, Kathy Bates, Bradley Cooper, Eric Dane, Patrick Dempsey, Hector Elizondo, Jamie Foxx, Jennifer Garner, Topher Grace, Anne Hathaway, Carter Jenkins, Ashton Kutcher, Queen Latifah, Taylor Lautner, George Lopez, Shirley MacLaine, Emma Roberts, Julia Roberts, Taylor Swift

UK Release Date: 11th February 2010

Plot: At first, it appears that the film has a variety of different storylines; however, it soon becomes evident that a lot of the characters are closely related in one way or another. In Los Angeles, florist; Reed Bennett (Ashton Kutcher), proposes to his girlfriend; Morley (Jessica Alba), who accepts, much to the surprise of his friends; Alphonso (George Lopez) and Julia Fitzpatrick (Jennifer Garner). However, Morley later changes her mind and leaves Reed. Meanwhile on a plane to Los Angeles, Kate Hazeltine (Julia Roberts), a captain in the U.S. Army befriends newly single, Holden Bristow (Bradley Cooper), who later turns out to be the lover of professional football player Sean Jackson (Eric Dane). These are just a few examples of the many intertwined storylines of the film.

Trailer:

Firstly I analysed the trailer for the film; ‘Valentine’s Day’. I analysed several different shots from the trailer itself and then turned my analysis into a video.

The original trailer itself can be viewed below:

As I previously explained, I created my trailer analysis using the technique of a video. This is shown below and clearly shows the annotations above and below the image. The user may play and pause the trailer and skip parts if they require to do so.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Poster:

Next, I chose to analyse the poster. It is conventional for many genres of films to produce several different posters and this is why I have decided to analyse two. The following websites are where I found my poster images:

I decided to create my poster analyses using Photoshop and this can be found below:

Poster Analysis One

Poster Analysis Two

Website:

Finally, I created my website analysis using Prezi. The presentation, shown below, allows the user to zoom in and out of the presentation and also allows them to follow the presentation as I intended, by pressing the right arrow button.

http://prezi.com/hdh_kfx-gz20/04-valentines-day-website/

(Now I have a better understanding of conventions and other important aspects I should take into consideration when creating my final products, I can carry out other forms of research. I will now go on to create and distribute a questionnaire which will help me gain an insight into who my target audience is and what they look for in promotional packages.)

This entry was posted in Cross, Lauren. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

