Questionnaire

(My second piece of primary research will involve a questionnaire. This will differ from my textual analysis as it will give me an insight into my target audience and their own personal preferences rather than analysing existing products.)

QUESTIONNAIRE

Questionnaire Definition

A questionnaire is an important piece of primary research as it allows the researcher to gain an insight into who their target audience may be and their own personal preferences on the topic. I have decided to produce a promotion package for a film of a romantic comedy genre. Although I have an idea from my textual analysis as to what is generally found in these packages, it is essential to research how my target audience feels about some of these issues so I can create advertisements which are appealing to my target audience. However, it is firstly necessary to research into who my target audience is. This will give me a clear idea as to who I should make my products appealing to. When constructing a questionnaire, it is vital that the wording is correct and the questions make sense, otherwise certain questions may not be understood and could lead to unreliable answers. It is also important that questions are unbiased as this could also lead to unreliable answers if not done correctly. In terms of answers, there should be appropriate options and enough options which could be applicable for all participants. A good questionnaire should also have extra space for the participant to write any additional information they may want to include, this may also help the researcher as it could provide them with information which is more precise.

It is important that my questionnaire is well planned and constructed and to do this, it is useful to follow several handy rules:

  1. Use statements which are interpreted in the same way by a variety of different people
  2. Think of having an “open” answer category after a list of possible answers
  3. Use neutral or positive statements and avoid negatives and double negatives
  4. Do not make assumptions about the respondent
  5. Use clear wording and make sure the questions are easy to understand
  6. Use correct spelling, grammar and punctuation
  7. Avoid issues which include more than one question

Below is a copy of my questionnaire:

Questionnaire

QUESTIONNAIRE RESULTS

As mentioned previously, I distributed my questionnaire to 40 rom-com lovers to gain an insight into who my target audience is and what persuades them to go and watch a film of a romantic comedy genre. My results were as follows:

The first section consists of five questions which asked about general issues:

The second section consists of five questions which asked specifically about issues relating to romantic comedy film trailers:

The third section consists of five questions which asked specifically about issues relating to romantic comedy film posters:

The final section consists of five questions which asked specifically about issues relating to romantic comedy film websites:

(My questionnaire has enabled me to find out a lot of information on who my target audience is and what they look for in film advertisements. I can now create a film trailer, poster and website which will be appealing to a broad audience. Next I will carry out further audience research in the form of a focus group.)

This entry was posted in Cross, Lauren. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

